William Havens built this Shelter Island farmhouse in 1743. Throughout the years, the building has also served as a store, tavern, school, post office and the town meeting hall. The Shelter Island Historical Society now maintains the property, which is on the New York State and National Register of Historic Places. The Havens House now showcases furnishings, textiles and decorative objects reflective of the years the original family occupied the house. A large barn built on the property in 1988 is also used to display collections, as well as space for special events.